A week in the life of a Final year Nutrition student

Monday: 

Made porridge for breakfast and grabbed by lunch and snacks from the fridge/cupboard and prepared a flask of tea for the bus. (Trying to be as organised as possible helps cause i’m not a morning person!)

Two buses to uni then half an hour in the library to sort myself out! Printed off the lectures for the day and tried to organise my research to meet with my supervisor about my final year research project.

10-12 Changing behaviour, promoting health module. Today we were looking at ethics in health promotion. We had group discussion of some examples of Obesity advertising and looked at shock factor etc. Taking time to get our heads around the concepts as it’s not normal biological pathways science that we are used to! It’s very interesting though and I’m enjoying the real life links of nutrition.

1 30 Research project meeting with supervisor – My Initial research search showed I can’t do my initial title so need to broaden my search and refine it. I wanted to look at maternal diet and fat in particular but there isn’t enough studies so I will look at maternal obesity and/or gestational diabetes.

Careers fair – Wasn’t much relevant to nutrition specific jobs but Danone have a good graduate scheme which I’ve already started my application for. I spoke to some members of staff about more volunteering opportunities too.

Library – Writing up lectures and attempting to organise all the extra reading and start doing some… I brought snacks!

Yoga 6-7 30 – A bit more intense class than I expected but felt very stretched after.

Tuesday:

No lectures! (Most time off is the time allocated to our research project)

12 30-1 30 yoga – a calmer class this time.

Library – Researching for my dissertation and looking up studies to see how many there potentially is for my systematic review

6 – Meeting with STEM outreach. Science meets art! We are helping out at the big draw which is an event happening across the country. We are putting on science activites to go alongside art activites. This was our initial meeting to put forward ideas and find out the details about what we will be doing. The exhibition at the gallery is about the gut so me and my nutrition pal are thinking of doing an activity based on digestion. We fancy making a big diagram and getting the visitors to follow the journey of their food with interactive parts to learn what happens.

Wednesday:

No lectures again! Library again! Searching for studies for my research project and writing up lectures.

2 pm – Blog soc – meeting lovely people and learning about using social media to promote your blog. Especially with all the false nutrition claims and ‘health/fitness/wellness’ blogs around I think blogging and sharing information with the general public is so important for qualified nutritionists and dietitians!

Thursday:

Took my oats and yoghurt on the bus for breakfast as I had no time!

9-11 Molecular nutrition module. We were learning about gene organisation and structure.

Library – More searching for studies and then writing up lecture notes.

4-5 yoga – a good stretch on my way home.

Friday:

Headed to the library first thing after a bowl of porridge and flask of tea in hand to go over my CV and look at a job application.

11-1 Nutrition and health of populations module. We were looking at nutritional epidemiology. Nutritional epidemiology aims to describe disease patterns and prevalence, understand why some diseases are more common and which populations this occurs in and provide information to plan public health nutrition services. The general aim is to link exposure and outcome. We learnt about study designs to assess diet and disease.

1-5 coordinated physiological functions module. Today was exercise physiology labs again. (See previous blog post for more details!)

 

Leave a comment